Collapse
X
  •  
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Travel Documents Needed or not?

I applied for my permanent residency in dec 2000 based on my father's US citizenship.I got notice of approval in July 2001 from INS.

I had already came to US on student visa in 1999. My student visa is still valid and i have been a full time student ever since i came in.

Now I decided to visit my native country in dec 2002, thats when I found out that I need travel documents to leave US and come back. I reasearched on travel document requirement and found out that I needed to have applied for my I-485(adjustment of status) before I apply for travel documents.My lawyer never applied for I-485 but he insists that he did. I knwo he did'nt as I never had my medical done, which is required for filing I-485. Moreover I never got any notice of action from INS.SO I know he has not applied for my I-485. He says that I can apply for travel documents and can also use my current F-1 visa to leave US and come back.
    I have heard people on H-1 with thier green card in process can do that, but I m not sure that I can leave US on my F-1 and come back on my current status.
    Any input for travelling in this situation will be appreciated.

You should probably NOT try to travel on your F-1 as that is a non-immigrant visa. If the INS officers at the border find out you are intending to immigrate they will deny entry.

Get to the bottom of the story about your AOS (I-485). Once you have submitted I-485, or at the same time, you should apply for advance parole, which will allow you to travel while the application is pending. You can also apply for permission to work if you need it.
    In any case, if your I-130 is approved, why delay in filing I-485?

Comment

Azee, I got this information for you that shows the problems that you may face to renter even with rentre permit. I hope this helps.