Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Lawyers saying diferent things. Need your advise!!!

Collapse
X
  •  
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Lawyers saying diferent things. Need your advise!!!

Hi, I'm out of status for 9 month now. I won a Green Card Lottery about 2 month ago. I know that there is not much I can do, but there is still one important thing that I'm confused about. I've seen 5 lawyers so far who tell me completely different things about my situation and what I can do about it. I just don't know who is wrong and who is right. Maybe you can help me to clear things out?
    First of all, I was on F-1 student visa all these years. I graduated from the college in 2001 after which I received the Employment Authorization Card. I have D/S on my I-94. Now that's where my lawyers seem to disagree about one thing. One belives that because I was on F-1 visa and I have D/S on my I-94 I still can go home and 3-10 year bar won't apply to me. My other lawyer first got excited becase of D/S part, but as soon as he found out that I did receive an Employment Authorization Card that's when he said my D/S is no longer played a part and unlawfull presence began when the EAC expired. Therefore I'm out of status and if I'll go home I would be banned for 3 to 10 years. My first lawyer disagree because he says that Employment Authorisaion Card gives you promission to work in the US for the time shown in the Card. It does not change your status. It's not like I receved a woriking visa or something. So he suggest for me to go home and apply for a green card there. I want to mention that his father who is also a lawyer was a first one to open an immigraton law firm in California so they're dealing with this kind of situations all the time. At least that's what he said.
    So please, any comments whould be appreciated.