Collapse
X
  •  
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• questions on N400 eligibility and requirements

I am currrently filling up my N400 form. Here's my profile.

1. I have been a permanent resident since april 2004. My green card will expire this july 2016.
    2. I have been married to the same man (US citizen) since 2003. He retired last year.
    3. I haven't work since 2004 not that I am lazy or stupid. I just want to take care of my husband and my dog. He financial supports me and we have a joint tax returns

I fully understood all the 3 and 5 years eligibility requirements and conditions. The 3 years has more paperwork like spouse's birth cert, marriage cert, tax return transcripts, etc.

My questions are:

1. should I check 3 years or 5 years eligibility. I am aware that I can file for 5 years and not be dependent on my husband. My worry is that I have been unemployed since I became a permanent resident which might create a red flag to the interviewer. My husband and I have filed joint income taxes for for 11 years ( 2004 to 2014).

2, if I check the 5 years, do I need to submit other docs like tax return transcript aside from the usual requirements so I can prove that I am not a burden to the society? or should I just submit the required docs (filing fee, 2x2 photos, copy of green card).

Thank you in advance.
    Last edited by Conrey; 02-29-2016, 07:54 PM.

Originally posted by Conrey View Post
    I am currrently filling up my N400 form. Here's my profile.

1. I have been a permanent resident since april 2004. My green card will expire this july 2016.
    2. I have been married to the same man (US citizen) since 2003. He retired last year.
    3. I haven't work since 2004 not that I am lazy or stupid. I just want to take care of my husband and my dog. He financial supports me and we have a joint tax returns