Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

F1 OTP - and im sorry if there was a thread already about this, i couldn't find it

Collapse
X
  •  
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• F1 OTP - and im sorry if there was a thread already about this, i couldn't find it

Dear All,
    I came in US 3 years ago with F1 visa. I got my masters in January 2007 and Im in OPT. My OPT expires in Jan 2008. In July I married my boyfriend who at the end of July applied for his citizenship. He already went for fingerprints so im hoping he will get it soon. I didn't aplly yet for anything because the advice I got from everyone (lawyers and friends) was to wait until he gets his citizenship and then apply for a green card and work authorization.
    I have 2 questions and I hope someone will be able to put my mind at ease:
    - did I do the right thing by not applying for the green card and work authorization?
    - can I still travel outside the country these 3 months and a half?
    I need to fly back home soon because of a family emergency and Im worried that the INS might not let me in when i come back here. Do I have any rights or something now that Im married with a resident ?
    Thank you very much.

Dear All,
    I came in US 3 years ago with F1 visa. I got my masters in January 2007 and Im in OPT. My OPT expires in Jan 2008. In July I married my boyfriend who at the end of July applied for his citizenship. He already went for fingerprints so im hoping he will get it soon. I didn't aplly yet for anything because the advice I got from everyone (lawyers and friends) was to wait until he gets his citizenship and then apply for a green card and work authorization.
    I have 2 questions and I hope someone will be able to put my mind at ease:
    - did I do the right thing by not applying for the green card and work authorization?
    - can I still travel outside the country these 3 months and a half?