Collapse
X
  •  
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Work Visa, H-1B also in a Slavery

While many talking about illegal immigrantamnesty, I am legal on work visa, H-1B, still be in a slavery situation. I work as a construction civil engineer, but was treated so...so bad, no respect, exploited. I have no choice to negotiate my pay. I can not speak out because it will jeopardize my status, "out of status". Transferring and looking for a new job is so complicate process, i.e. time to be in status. Everywhere is the same, no matter where I go. Since they know my status which is depend on employment to be "in status", they take advantage. I keep on applying Permanent Resident through work base, but it is so difficult to get from INS. Years and years waiting and waiting. Work visa, H-1b, could be grant for 3 years without any conditions until it's expires. It is not good for both I and American, since they pay me cheap because of my choice while American unemployed. It should be free market and real competition.

This is discrimination.

Comment

The only discrimination is against American workers. H1-B laws do not require that preference be given in hiring or layoffs to Americans, so employers prefer to hire cheaper H1-Bs.

I do not feel sorry for you. My brother, an American civil engineer, was laid off after almost 20 years at his company and couldn't find another job in his field. At the same time there were more than 600 H1-B civil engineers in his State, earning less than the average starting salary for a guy fresh out of college. If he has to take his lumps, you have to take yours.