• Time
  • Show
Clear All

• What is this?

WHAT IS THIS ?

Paddy
    posted September 18, 2003 10:29 PM
    Hello Newlywed,
    I'm not a lawyer so you can take my advice with a pinch of salt if you like. Your situation sounds something like what happened to me whereby my visa ran out before I got married to a USC. I was very naive at the time with regards to the US immigration law because I actually thought that I was safe from any negative consequences once I was married and like you in the process of filing. However, I did get some free advice from a lawyer....yeah FREE!!!!

1)First things first: You are now an ILLEGAL ALIEN........try and move as fast as you can to file your adjustment of status.Due to the change in the immigration climate more and more enforcement agencies are sharing information so if you were to get stopped by the police they could report you to the BCIS. However, the chances of this is very slim so it is something you should not worry about but just be aware of.
    2) Your case is seems very simple so you do not need to spend money on hiring a lawyer. Not a lot of immigrants know that immigration lawyers are only needed in sticky situations. Filling out the application is not rocket science. If you need advice about how to fill them out just ask anyone on this site including me. The funny thing is as I was illegal for about 2 months, my wife went down to our local office and the BCIS did everything that a lawyer would do for you by checking the forms you have filled out. More importantly though, by getting the BCIS to check the forms before you mail them, should reduce the chances of them getting returned by the service center.