Collapse
X
  •  
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• I751 interview

Guys, I need to get this right before my I751 interview. My spouse and I have our proofs of bonifide marriage excepted that we never field joint taxes together. We have always filed separately, and she even filed Head of Household. Do you think we would have a problem because we do not file our tax jointly?

Guys, I need to get this right before my I751 interview. My spouse and I have our proofs of bonifide marriage excepted that we never field joint taxes together. We have always filed separately, and she even filed Head of Household. Do you think we would have a problem because we do not file our tax jointly?

Comment

No, yOu should not have any problem. It is not a requirement to file taxes together

Comment

If I was a BCIS officer, this would be a HUGE red flag because people normally file taxes together and not to do so would be financially retarded.

Comment

Once again Michael, you display your ignorance.

There are a thousand reasons why people file taxes separatley. Each circumstance is different and there can be various benefits or hinderances if your file "Married - filing separatley".

dabadaba: I doubt it will be an issue (as long as you did file "Married - filing separatley". If you filed single - you commited tax fraud and there are seveal ramifactions of that - you don't want to lie to either the IRS or the INS... It will bite you in the assets...

ARQU

Comment

There are no circumstances where filing seperately would be better off. You are always better off filing jointly unless you were trying to hide something or if the other spouse was refusing to cooperate with you. I would suspect that a USC spouse in a sham marriage would be relunctant to share this information with his spouse. You say there are a thousand examples. Give one. Just one.

Comment

Actually - the head-of-household portion does look a bit suspicious...