X
  •  
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Spouse Green Card

Hi guys,

I am currently on OPT. My comapny is filing for my Permanent Residence (now working on submitting PERM). Since I have an advanced degree from a US institute, I expect to receive my Advanced Parole in no later than 6 months, hopefully.

Here is the problem. My girlfriend is currently outside the US. She has been admitted to a top-tier US university and is supposed to enter the US in Summer with an F-1 visa. We are planning to get married and I am considering the most efficient way to get our green cards as soon as possible.

Here are the different scenarios that I can think of:

1) I go ahead and file for my status adjustment as soon as I can. She arrives and we get married. It seems that I will receive my Advanced Parole in 6 months, but how about hers? Will it take her several years to get hers or will she get hers almost at the same time as mine?

2) I hold for a few more months after I receive my Labor Certification. We get married and then file for a status adjustment together. How long this one will take?

Thank you all in advance.

Hi guys,

I am currently on OPT. My comapny is filing for my Permanent Residence (now working on submitting PERM). Since I have an advanced degree from a US institute, I expect to receive my Advanced Parole in no later than 6 months, hopefully.

Here is the problem. My girlfriend is currently outside the US. She has been admitted to a top-tier US university and is supposed to enter the US in Summer with an F-1 visa. We are planning to get married and I am considering the most efficient way to get our green cards as soon as possible.

1) I go ahead and file for my status adjustment as soon as I can. She arrives and we get married. It seems that I will receive my Advanced Parole in 6 months, but how about hers? Will it take her several years to get hers or will she get hers almost at the same time as mine?