X
  •  
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• derived through naturalization

Hi there,
    OK, So here's the deal I was a legal permanent resident and under 18 when my parents naturalized in 1992. Prior to them becoming naturalized we were legal residents for about 13 years. Did I automatically become a citizen and am I eligible to file an N600? Oh and my mom has a different last name than me now, she was married 2 times. But would that not make a difference just as long as she had listed my name as her child on the N400 application when she applied? Thanks for all your help.

Hi there,
    OK, So here's the deal I was a legal permanent resident and under 18 when my parents naturalized in 1992. Prior to them becoming naturalized we were legal residents for about 13 years. Did I automatically become a citizen and am I eligible to file an N600? Oh and my mom has a different last name than me now, she was married 2 times. But would that not make a difference just as long as she had listed my name as her child on the N400 application when she applied? Thanks for all your help.

Comment

Yes, you would be a beneficiary of citizenship through your
      parent, either one. No, no difference if mom got remarried and changed her name. I'm not sure what paperwork needs to be filed to legitimize it...make a call to the USCIS office, they will walk you through the process.

Sec. 1431. Children born outside the United States and residing permanently in the United States; conditions under which citizenship automatically acquired
      TITLE 8, CHAPTER 12, SUBCHAPTER III, Part II, Sec. 1431.
      STATUTE
      (a) A child born outside of the United States automatically becomes a citizen of the United States when all of the following conditions have been fulfilled:
      (1) At least one parent of the child is a citizen of the United States, whether by birth or naturalization.
      (2) The child is under the age of eighteen years.