Collapse
X
  •  
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• permanent resident with a felony

hello everyone, i have a couple of questions to ask you guys.
    I am a permanent resident and have lived in the US for 16 years legally. During my teen years I have gotten into a bit of trouble and got convicted for a felony burglary. I believe it was 459, residential, and I was incarcerated for 1 year. It has been 6 years since the conviction and since then, I have been a model citizen or an alien if you will. My concern is that I want to take a vacation out of the country but I'm worried that I will be detained at the POE on the return trip because of the record. Is it safe to go on this vacation since it's been so long since the conviction? Will I be detained and processed for removal/deportation?

My second question is regarding naturalization. I'm concerned with the "good moral character" part of the process. Although I have been "naughty" during high school, I have cleaned up my act and I know that I have good moral character now. Will the felony permanently bar me from being an eligible candidate for citizenship? What exactly is "aggravated felony"?

hello everyone, i have a couple of questions to ask you guys.
    I am a permanent resident and have lived in the US for 16 years legally. During my teen years I have gotten into a bit of trouble and got convicted for a felony burglary. I believe it was 459, residential, and I was incarcerated for 1 year. It has been 6 years since the conviction and since then, I have been a model citizen or an alien if you will. My concern is that I want to take a vacation out of the country but I'm worried that I will be detained at the POE on the return trip because of the record. Is it safe to go on this vacation since it's been so long since the conviction? Will I be detained and processed for removal/deportation?