X
  •  
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Naturalization case after extended presence abroad

Hi everyone,

I am a US permanent resident. I received that status on 03/02/2001. Since 04/17/2002 I have been residing overseas and working for a US company, but have been maintaining my green card by traveling every 6 months to the US. The longest time that I stayed outside of the US since becoming a permanent resident was 174 days.
    My question is: if I am to return to the US, would I be able to apply for naturalization within 30 months or will I have to wait 4 years? Technically, as far as I understand, I never broke my continuous residence since I never left the US for longer than 6 months but I did come close (174 days) and I wonder if BCIS will find me ineligible for naturalization for that reason.
    Has anyone here dealt with something like that? Any word of advice?
    Thanks!

Hi everyone,

I am a US permanent resident. I received that status on 03/02/2001. Since 04/17/2002 I have been residing overseas and working for a US company, but have been maintaining my green card by traveling every 6 months to the US. The longest time that I stayed outside of the US since becoming a permanent resident was 174 days.
    My question is: if I am to return to the US, would I be able to apply for naturalization within 30 months or will I have to wait 4 years? Technically, as far as I understand, I never broke my continuous residence since I never left the US for longer than 6 months but I did come close (174 days) and I wonder if BCIS will find me ineligible for naturalization for that reason.
    Has anyone here dealt with something like that? Any word of advice?
    Thanks!

Comment