Collapse
X
  •  
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Immigration Law Question: F1 visa AOS but 1098t filed

I am an international student on F1 Visa (entered 2006), I had filed 1098-t twice and IRS sent me $1000 each time(2009 and 2010), I am about to go through change of status marriage-based. My college send me 1098-t form without asking. so I filed it through turbo tax but the 1098-t form never asked me to choose immigration status, like are you a citizen,PR, etc,
    So is this going to affect me negatively? Do IRS and USCIS exchange information? will they find out that I had filed 1098-t?..any help will be very appreciated. Please help!!!!!!

The Agencies these days do tend to share information more than in the past but so long as you haven't mentioned anywhere on the form that you were a USC you should be ok. This is purely a layperson view.
    "What you see in the photograph isn't what you saw at the time. The real skill of photography is organized visual lying."

Comment

Originally posted by floatingpoint:
      I am an international student on F1 Visa (entered 2006), I had filed 1098-t twice and IRS sent me $1000 each time(2009 and 2010), I am about to go through change of status marriage-based. My college send me 1098-t form without asking. so I filed it through turbo tax but the 1098-t form never asked me to choose immigration status, like are you a citizen,PR, etc,
      So is this going to affect me negatively? Do IRS and USCIS exchange information? will they find out that I had filed 1098-t?..any help will be very appreciated. Please help!!!!!!
      Hi and welcome to the forum. For future reference, please include the phrase "immigration law question" in your title. This should allow the best advice without the distractions.