Collapse
X
  •  
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Need advice in situation.

Hi there. I am new to this discussion group but I require some advice on stuff I am a bit wooly on.

I am a UK citizen got married in the US April 2001. It was a spur of the moment thing:- I was 21, she was 18, we were very much in love and wanted to commit to this. Unfortunately we didn't know a lot about the immigration laws and I returned to the Uk shortly afterwards, intent on building up some cash, tying up some loose ends, and then heading back over.

We weren't naive about the possible complexities, but my spouse was in the Armed Services and she got lots of legal advice from the base. She has been over to the Uk twice since we were married, but I have never been able to go over to the US, as I understand that there are complications if I try to do that while my status is pending.

I have 3 questions:-

1/ Is this normal? Do people often have to spend years estranged from their partners while forms process? Surely this in itself must put unnecessary strain on a fledgling relationship.

2/ I have heard that there is new legislation that allows an immigrant spouse to move to the US while their application is pending. Is this correct and if so how does one go about the correct procedure and due process?

3/ I have been informed that the INS require you to change status after 2 years of marriage. Do I still need to 'change status' even though my first application is still pending and, as far as I am aware, I have not yet been granted any form of status yet?

Any help would be greatly appreciated.

neil

Hi there. I am new to this discussion group but I require some advice on stuff I am a bit wooly on.