Collapse
X
  •  
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Citizenship and the Army?

Hello, I am a permanent resident and I've lived here for 8 years. Last September I have signed up for the Army under the Delayed Entry Program (where I don't go to active duty for up to a year after signing up). In my case, I go to active duty on July 21st. I have also sent in my citizenship application in September with a copy of my Army contract included. Over the past few months I have changed my mind and decided that I want to get out of the Army. I have not been on active duty or basic training yet. Will this affect my citizenship application? If so, how? In the section F. of the citizenship application (N-400), question 31 asks "Have you EVER applied for any kind of exemption from military service in the U.S Armed Forces?" Would this be considered an exemption considering I volunteered in the first place?

Thank you

Hello, I am a permanent resident and I've lived here for 8 years. Last September I have signed up for the Army under the Delayed Entry Program (where I don't go to active duty for up to a year after signing up). In my case, I go to active duty on July 21st. I have also sent in my citizenship application in September with a copy of my Army contract included. Over the past few months I have changed my mind and decided that I want to get out of the Army. I have not been on active duty or basic training yet. Will this affect my citizenship application? If so, how? In the section F. of the citizenship application (N-400), question 31 asks "Have you EVER applied for any kind of exemption from military service in the U.S Armed Forces?" Would this be considered an exemption considering I volunteered in the first place?

Thank you

Comment

No.

Comment

Hello,