X
  •  
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• divorce

Hi.

I've been a permanent resident for almost a year. I've been married for over 4 years (my wife is a USC). When I had my card issued in December last year it had a mistake on it. It took INS 9 months to correct it- I got the right card a month ago. The thing is that our marriage is not working out. We have been separated for about 3 months now and we'll probably have to get a divorce, soon. I want to keep my permanent residency so I don't want to get divorced too soon and I don't want the INS to think it was a fake marriage cause it was not! I was adviced to wait about 7 months (after receiving the corrected card).

So than I would be filing for a divorce after being 1 year and 4 nonths a green card holder. Isn't it too soon?

How long does the divorce take in the US?
    And do I need to file any forms with the INS?
    How do I do it?
    Do I need to hire a lawyer do to so?- Does it go faster with a lawyer?

(by the way this web site is really great guys!)

Hi.

I've been a permanent resident for almost a year. I've been married for over 4 years (my wife is a USC). When I had my card issued in December last year it had a mistake on it. It took INS 9 months to correct it- I got the right card a month ago. The thing is that our marriage is not working out. We have been separated for about 3 months now and we'll probably have to get a divorce, soon. I want to keep my permanent residency so I don't want to get divorced too soon and I don't want the INS to think it was a fake marriage cause it was not! I was adviced to wait about 7 months (after receiving the corrected card).

So than I would be filing for a divorce after being 1 year and 4 nonths a green card holder. Isn't it too soon?

How long does the divorce take in the US?
    And do I need to file any forms with the INS?
    How do I do it?
    Do I need to hire a lawyer do to so?- Does it go faster with a lawyer?