In September 2012, the Georgia Audits and Accounts Department sent a list of 570 government
agencies to the Department of Community Affairs, saying they have not filed annual E-Verify reports and those not complying with the law could be cut off from certain state funding - including state community development block grants-until they file their reports with state auditors.

Under Georgia's law requiring use of E-Verify by government agencies and private employers, government employers with two or more employees file annual reports certifying they and their public works contractors are using E-Verify. Some government agencies might have no or one employees and would therefore be exempt under the law.

The state's list included four counties outside the Atlanta area, more than 130 cities across the state, including Atlanta-area cities of East Point, Lilburn and Norcross, and more than 400 other government entities, including hospital, housing and development authorities. Lilburn officials said they were using E-Verify as required by law and would send the state reports that certify this. East Point and Norcross officials said they were looking into the matter.

Previously, on June 25, 2012, state auditors sent a letter warning nearly 1,200 government agencies
that they were not complying with the law and the Immigration Enforcement Review Board could sanction them, including fines up to $5,000 for officials who "knowingly" violate the law.