Copyright
© 1995-
ILW.COM,
American
Immigration LLC.

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: German Student need some help

Hello,

I hope somebody can help me on this one. I'm a german student studying in the US. I would like to work on campus but they told me I would have to apply for financial aid and the one question would be if I'm a U.S. Citizen or eligible resident with an Alien Registration card. My question is what is the alien registration card and is there a way to apply for such a card??
    I would appreciate your help
    Thanks

Locke

Hello,

I hope somebody can help me on this one. I'm a german student studying in the US. I would like to work on campus but they told me I would have to apply for financial aid and the one question would be if I'm a U.S. Citizen or eligible resident with an Alien Registration card. My question is what is the alien registration card and is there a way to apply for such a card??
    I would appreciate your help
    Thanks

Locke

It's been long time since I left college and if some one knows otherwise please correct me. As far as I remember, if you are a full time student on F-1 visa, you can work 20 hours on campus. YOu don't have to be a citizen or Permanent Resident (Alien Registration Card).

I suggest that you speak to some one who knows, perhaps the International Student Advisor at your shcool. In regards to getting a Green Card, It will take long long time even if you qualify some how so It's not going to address your immediate need of getting work on campus now.

Good Luck

Isn't there a "1-year" rule for F-1 employment?

I remeber that you have to complete at least one year of studies before you could be eligible for employment. I just do not remember if this rule applies to an on-campus or off-campus job.

Can anybody clarify this?

Thanks.

If you're here on a student visa, as far as I remember you're ineligable for federal financial aid.