50000 pages of
free information!
Copyright
1995-
ILW.COM,
American
Immigration LLC.

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: If I die as a permanent resident, can my son stay in the US till he gets his citizens

I live in Virginia.

Hi, I was granted Asylum Status (& my older son) indefinitely in this Great Country a few years ago. I have been a permanent resident for two years now. I have two sons 17 years old who was included with me in the asylum case and of course he is a permanent resident as well, and 11 years old son who is a US citizen. My question is: if I die before I get my US citizenship (in 3 more years), would my older son (at least) be allowed to stay in the US till he gets his citizenship. The father is overseas. My asylum was based on domestic violence case, and social group suffering. My kids (and ) would not want to go back and live with their father is something would happen to me. My utmost priority is for my older son to get his citizenship in 3 more years, I think then if he is 18 years old (next year) he is considered an adult and can take care of his brother and wait till he gets his US citizenship. Please advise.

I live in Virginia.