free information!
Copyright
1995-
ILW.COM,
American
Immigration LLC.

Thread: When do I have to file?

Hi Everybody,
    I'm a german student. I'm living with my fiance in the US he is a USC. We wanna get married but he is quite scared that the whole immigration process will mess up the wedding. My question is when do I have to file the petition? And does my student status has a influence? How long does it usually take to get those granted if at all?

Every answer would help.

Thanks,

KM

Hi Everybody,
    I'm a german student. I'm living with my fiance in the US he is a USC. We wanna get married but he is quite scared that the whole immigration process will mess up the wedding. My question is when do I have to file the petition? And does my student status has a influence? How long does it usually take to get those granted if at all?

Every answer would help.

Thanks,

KM

I really don't know if your kind of visa allow you to change your status...you have to check it with USCIS official website or somebody else might clear this up.

But if it allow...after marriage you have to file AOS, adjustment of status which will take from 6 - 24 months for you to granted CONDITIONAL PR or PR. (Depends on when your interview date). If it is before 2 years of your marriage it will be a conditional PR, if after 2 years of your marriage, it will be 10 years PR.

While adjusting your status, you can work (if you apply for EAD - I-751) and even continue your study).

But first, check whether your visa can be adjust. Otherwise its no point.

I'm not a lawyer, pls act accordingly.

Well from what I know, you have to do the following: have your spouse file I130 and I485. You can file I765 in case you want to work.
    you have a better explanation of this on the BCIS website http://uscis.gov/graphics/howdoi/LPRApplication.htm
    http://uscis.gov/graphics/howdoi/legpermres.htm