Copyright
© 1995-
ILW.COM,
American
Immigration LLC.

Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: International Medical Graduates (IMGs) in US

Hello everyone!

I am a foreign medical student who got his green card but not yet his medical degree (a few months thing) in his home country. I was trying to figure out from someone who is knowledgeable whether I am better off going back to my country to complete the last year of my medical studies and then come here to apply for the ECFMG certificate in order to enter later in a residency program, or if I can complete the last year of my studies in some medical school here in the States and then eventually proceed as above (with the ECFMG and USMLE Step 3.)

I am eligible right now to apply for USMLE Step 1 and Step 2 as I am within one year of completing my medical studies in my country, yet I was told that to be able to be certified by the ECFMG one should have the M.D. diploma from the medical school in one's own country. What do you think guys?

Graduate Medical Education system is a multi-step process that begins with certification through the ECFMG. ECFMG certification assures U.S. residebcy programs that physicians trained outside the U.S., Canada and Puerto Rico are qualified and eligible to enter residency training.

The first requirement is passage of the medical science examination. Steps 1 and 2 of the United States Medical Licensing Exam (USMLE) now constitute the medical science exam. Although the ECFMG administers it for IMGs, the USMLE is the same examination used to license United States medical graduates (USMGs). While a passing score on Step 1 is 179 and 170 on Step 2, the competitiveness of many residency programs requires a higher score. Passage itself does not guarantee acceptance into a residency program.