50000 pages of
free information!
Copyright
1995-
ILW.COM,
American
Immigration LLC.

Thread: Thinking Ahead

I will not be able to even file for AOS for my husband if 245i doesn't get passed, but I'm hoping for the best :-) I am a student, so my income for the last 3 years has not been 125% of the poverty line. I have been working (like a dog, might I add) part time during school and full time in the summer, though, so my income from last year was only $5,000 off. I do not think that my parents will be co-sponsors, since the idea scares them, especially the part about divorce not having any affect on the sponsor's obligations. I don't really blame them, since that thing sound pretty serious. I read that if you have five times the difference between your income and the cutoff line in assets, they will accept you. If the difference is $5000.00, that would mean I'd need $20,000.00 in assets. If I could convince a few family members to lend me money, so that I had that money in the bank, and sent in the bank statement to prove it, would it work? Does the BCIS have to accept that, even if they suspect that the money is just a loan to get the sponsorship approved? Can/will they ask me where the money came from? If I said it was a gift from my parents for a down payment on a house or something like that, would they accept it? I highly doubt that I will ever be able to convince my parents or any of my other family members to be co-sponsors, but I know that they would help me out by lending me some money to have in the bank. My parents own three houses. Could they transfer one of them into my name and then I could put it back into thier name after my hubby gets his green card? Would that work too? Please advise. Also, do automobiles count as assets?