free information!
Copyright
1995-
ILW.COM,
American
Immigration LLC.

Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: Informed of deportation order after 9 years

I am hoping the immigration experts on this forum can offer some help.

I am a Canadian citizen living and working in Canada since Dec 2001. I recently got offered a job inthe US. I went to the US/Canadian border to apply for a TN status. There I was kept for 5 hours and at the end I was told that there was an outstanding court judgement against me and that I am banned from entry to the US for 10 years. I was told this case happened in July 2001.

I was never aware of any court date, decision, or even a notification to ever attend a court hearing and of any court decisions against me.

I studied in the US from 1990 - 2001 (highschool, bachelors, masters). I always was a full time student and have contacted my university international office where they also confirmed that I was always in good F1 standing. After I graduated, I got an OPT (EAD?) for 1 year, valid until May 2002. I left for Canada (was a landed immigrant) in Dec 2001 (while OPT was valid).

Somehow there was a court hearing in July 2001 in IL (only been there for summers a few times, my resdential address was in MS) without my knowledge.

I had been to the US twice in 2006 without any issues at the border.

I questions are: what can I do not after 9 years? How can I fix this issue? Can a decision be made by an immigration court without informing the accused? Can a decision be made without my presence?

Any help will be greatly appreciated.

I am hoping the immigration experts on this forum can offer some help.