50000 pages of
free information!
Copyright
© 1995-
ILW.COM,
American
Immigration LLC.

Thread: I-130 while being in the USA

Hello, I'm a permanent resident, I have my green card, and I would like my wife to join me next fall, I look up on USCIS and it says I have to file for the I-130 and pay the fee.

from your own personal experiences, tell me: I want to start the procedure once shes in the USA on a tourist visa (actually shes french so she does not need any kind of visa to visit me)

1. do I have the right to do it?
    2. also when the procedure has started, does she have the right to stay in the country?
    3. she would like to go university, will she have the right to?
    4. is there anything I'm forgetting???

5. also i wanted to say that's we're newly wed, and we are very young (22yrs old) do you think we have any chances to succeed?

thanks in advance for your answers

Hello, I'm a permanent resident, I have my green card, and I would like my wife to join me next fall, I look up on USCIS and it says I have to file for the I-130 and pay the fee.

from your own personal experiences, tell me: I want to start the procedure once shes in the USA on a tourist visa (actually shes french so she does not need any kind of visa to visit me)

1. do I have the right to do it?
    2. also when the procedure has started, does she have the right to stay in the country?
    3. she would like to go university, will she have the right to?
    4. is there anything I'm forgetting???

5. also i wanted to say that's we're newly wed, and we are very young (22yrs old) do you think we have any chances to succeed?

thanks in advance for your answers

Yes, once a spouse of an lpr enters the U.S. they may apply to adjust, but only spouses of US citizens may apply to adjust on the Visa Waiver Program. You spouse needs to obtain a non-immigrant visa to enter the U.S. to adjust status.