free information!
Copyright
1995-
ILW.COM,
American
Immigration LLC.

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: naturalization

I filed my N400 a couple of months ago. I am a permanent resident applying on the basis of 5 year residence. My first year here I worked for a maintenece company which for some reason was paying me with a regular check and at the end of the year did not give me anything for my taxes nor report anything about me to IRS. Am I in trouble? I answered the question" Have you ever failed to submit the required federal, state or local tax returns" with a no. Any advice helps.

I filed my N400 a couple of months ago. I am a permanent resident applying on the basis of 5 year residence. My first year here I worked for a maintenece company which for some reason was paying me with a regular check and at the end of the year did not give me anything for my taxes nor report anything about me to IRS. Am I in trouble? I answered the question" Have you ever failed to submit the required federal, state or local tax returns" with a no. Any advice helps.

That question is asking whether you filed your taxes. When the company gave you your check and you saw the deductions on your paystub, did you file your taxes at the end of the year?

If you have not been filing taxes, you are in trouble big time. You may get IRS fines and even go to prison!

It is highly unlikely that you will be in big trouble for this and go to jail.

Depending on the amount of income you received, your age, and your marital status, you may not have been required to file with the IRS. Check the IRS WEB site. If you didn't have to file, no worries. You answered the question on the N-400 correctly.