50000 pages of
free information!
Copyright
1995-
ILW.COM,
American
Immigration LLC.

Thread: Jesse-do you have any advice?

I'm new to this discussion board, but I have noticed many people asking questions about getting divorced before permanent residency has been obtained. My friend married a USC in Poland in 7/01, and came to the US in 1/02 when he received a conditional green card. He would now like to get divorced, but the 2 year anniversary of his residency is not until 1/04. He has been told that he can get divorced now and still apply to have the conditions removed alone, but he is worried that this is a risky thing to do. He is a professional and is employed, and he has clear evidence that his marriage was bona fide, but he is still worried that this won't be enough. Jesse, do you have experience with cases like these? Is it too risky? Does he need a divorce attorney, or an immigration attorney, or both? I know you can't predict the outcome, but I would like to know if you have some advice or can tell me what the odds are in a situation like this.

Thanks!