50000 pages of
free information!
Copyright
1995-
ILW.COM,
American
Immigration LLC.

Thread: Removal Proceedings - Voluntary Departure

Hi , I'm an international student and I'm out of status since last year. I went to the special registration and they found out that I've been out of status. I will have my master hearing next month. I plan to take the voluntary departure option if I can. Do you guys think I need a lawyer to represent me just to take the VD option? and if I take the VD how long I can stay before I leave here? Thanks

Hi , I'm an international student and I'm out of status since last year. I went to the special registration and they found out that I've been out of status. I will have my master hearing next month. I plan to take the voluntary departure option if I can. Do you guys think I need a lawyer to represent me just to take the VD option? and if I take the VD how long I can stay before I leave here? Thanks

120 days tops you can stay after VD has been granted....

No you don't need a lawyer if you are sure you are going to leave the US on a VD.
    SEMPER VIPER / Army Strong!

Hello, Syn. Your out-of-status situation is similar to a friend's of mine. (I posted a question about his situation yesterday.) Can I ask you, do/did you have any options available to try and stay in the states and renew your status? As my friend doesn't want to go yet (he wants to finish college) and is worried about the whole process. He has fears and worries about what will happen. If you are willing to talk to me off-list my email addy is cerannah@smig.net.

Actually I've asked some lawyers and they said the chance that I can stay here is small. That's why I will take the VD option instead. I'm out of status because I didn't take any classes on last semester when the special registration started. Your friend may have a better chance if he/she almost finish the school. Some students are allowed to continue their school by INS. That's what I heard.