publisher - over
50000 pages of
free information!
Copyright
© 1995-
ILW.COM,
American
Immigration LLC.

Thread: do foreign students benefit from the amnesty?

Hi folks,

Recently I read a lot about the presidents new proposal. It also seems that many people think amnesty is comming up as well. I know it's still not certain, but I would like to know if I can benefit from the amnesty somehow and wether it's worth waiting for.

Here's the plan. Please tell me if you think is a good plan:

1) terminate my OPT/F1 status
    2) look for a job that does not ask for the documents
    3) wait for the amnesty

I've been a student for 5 years and I'd love to stay in this country. There are some mixed opinions about the issue. For example, if I do stick around for the amnesty, I will have to get a job, which means giving my SSN, which means breaking the law (F1 student SSN is not authorized for employment), which means I might have troubles in future should I ever get married or sponsored through an employer.

On the other hand, noone seems to care about a few students breaking a little law, and employers almost never ask for the actual SSN card (yes, the number could even be FAKE, don't you think so?)

Lawyers don't seem to help, they never call back. I'd really appreciate your experience and/or any advices you might have. What's the best thing to do? Thanks a million!

Oh, one more thing. I know it's not current yet but does anyone know how does the actual amnesty take place? Is there a form for it?

Hi folks,

Recently I read a lot about the presidents new proposal. It also seems that many people think amnesty is comming up as well. I know it's still not certain, but I would like to know if I can benefit from the amnesty somehow and wether it's worth waiting for.

Here's the plan. Please tell me if you think is a good plan:

1) terminate my OPT/F1 status
    2) look for a job that does not ask for the documents
    3) wait for the amnesty