50000 pages of
free information!
Copyright
1995-
ILW.COM,
American
Immigration LLC.

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Questions about returning to US with unexpired B-2 visa(but changed to F-1 status)

Hi guys! I came to US with my B-2 visa, then my school helped me to send a letter to INS and my "status" was changed to F-1(only extended stay as F-1 status, not a visa change). now I graduated and would like to go back to my country to spend time with my parents. I would like to ask some opinions in chances of returning to US later. few questions below...

my B-2 visa was issued from 1996 to 2006, total 10 years, so does that mean I can come back to US anytime before my tourist B-2 visa expires(2006)? I have this question because my status is changed to F-1(not B-2 anymore even though my visa is still B-2 on my passport)

Does a working permit(OPT) help in returning to US? after I obtain the OPT (work authorization card), am I free to reentry US before the OPT expires?

I never leave US after I came here 7 years ago. It is because people have been telling me that I can't reentry US once I leave US...well I don't understand why they issue an extended stay permission for people but would not permit people reenter US...does anyone know?

okay! thank you! =)

Hi guys! I came to US with my B-2 visa, then my school helped me to send a letter to INS and my "status" was changed to F-1(only extended stay as F-1 status, not a visa change). now I graduated and would like to go back to my country to spend time with my parents. I would like to ask some opinions in chances of returning to US later. few questions below...

my B-2 visa was issued from 1996 to 2006, total 10 years, so does that mean I can come back to US anytime before my tourist B-2 visa expires(2006)? I have this question because my status is changed to F-1(not B-2 anymore even though my visa is still B-2 on my passport)