50000 pages of
free information!
Copyright
1995-
ILW.COM,
American
Immigration LLC.

Thread: DV 2004 - "winner"?

Does anyone have some insight about that?

I got notice that I "won" the DV-2004 (among the 100,000 selected).

1) Is there a need to rush the process (for a matter of first served basis)? Do I have time to consult a lawyer and can send DS 230 and DSP 122 forms to the KCC any time before Oct, 1 or I should start the application right away (in order not to loose my rank, if any, on the list of "winners").

2) It seems that I am eligible for adjustment of status, as I have been previously on B2, J1 not subject to 212E, and currently F1 visas.
    Is it better to adjust status (I live in the US) or to request an appointment abroad? Does it change the chance of getting the green card? Is one way more difficult (given that I am a student on F1 visa)

3) If I don't get a green card, could it (the fact that I applied for an immigrant visa) jeopardize a later renewal of an F1 visa, or a J1? Should I renew my F1 right now (it is going to expire next month, but duration of stay as stated by I-20 is up to 2007)?

4) Do I absolutely need to consult an attorney to *** up the file? I do have assets and real estate in both US and my country of citizenship (but I would have to disclose a joint homosexual ownership for the US part, which I have always been advised not too). I also have a meager income (lecturing) under my F1 visa for at least 3 years.
    Or is the process for a DV "winner" pretty much clear, easy and not really subject to the appreciation of an immigration officer?

I would be glad to hear any thought about that.

Does anyone have some insight about that?

I got notice that I "won" the DV-2004 (among the 100,000 selected).