publisher - over
50000 pages of
free information!
Copyright
© 1995-
ILW.COM,
American
Immigration LLC.

Thread: Spouse's income affecting application?

Spouse's income affecting application?

Hi All,

I am new to this so your assistance (and patience) is sincerely appreciated

My partner (US Citizen) and I (Australian) are intending to get married next year

We will be residing in Australia for approx a year or two before moving to the US (due to my work commitments - healthcare professional)

I understand that part of the process involves my partner (new wife) sponsoring me. As such, she has to demonstrate "an income level at or above 125 percent of the Federal poverty level".

If she is not able to meet this income benchmark, would it affect my application in any capacity?

I am financially independent and has the capacity to earn a relatively decent income to sustain the two of us but I may not be working straight away when we arrive in the US.

I will guided by your advice/suggestions

Many thanks all

Quote Originally Posted by Morningdew View Post
    Hi All,

I am new to this so your assistance (and patience) is sincerely appreciated

My partner (US Citizen) and I (Australian) are intending to get married next year

We will be residing in Australia for approx a year or two before moving to the US (due to my work commitments - healthcare professional)

I understand that part of the process involves my partner (new wife) sponsoring me. As such, she has to demonstrate "an income level at or above 125 percent of the Federal poverty level".

If she is not able to meet this income benchmark, would it affect my application in any capacity?

I am financially independent and has the capacity to earn a relatively decent income to sustain the two of us but I may not be working straight away when we arrive in the US.

I will guided by your advice/suggestions

Many thanks all