50000 pages of
free information!
Copyright
1995-
ILW.COM,
American
Immigration LLC.

Thread: Money Transfer

I'm a law-abiding permanent resident and I like always to do the right thing. My dad passed away a year ago and left me some inheritance. Would it be a problem for me to bring the money over here? I'm planning on doing that through a reputable bank following all legal procedures, since I have nothing to hide or be worried about. Will this money be taxed and should it be reported?
    Do you see any problem if I plan to use this money to buy a house? America is the leader of the capitalist world, why there should be a problem? I once heard if you bring over $250,000 and you deposit it in a Canadian bank they will offer you permanent residency, since you will be helping the economy.
    What are your thoughts and what are the cons and pros?
    Thank you so much in advance.
    Jan

I'm a law-abiding permanent resident and I like always to do the right thing. My dad passed away a year ago and left me some inheritance. Would it be a problem for me to bring the money over here? I'm planning on doing that through a reputable bank following all legal procedures, since I have nothing to hide or be worried about. Will this money be taxed and should it be reported?
    Do you see any problem if I plan to use this money to buy a house? America is the leader of the capitalist world, why there should be a problem? I once heard if you bring over $250,000 and you deposit it in a Canadian bank they will offer you permanent residency, since you will be helping the economy.
    Jan

<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-title">quote:</div><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-content">Originally posted by bouree:
    Jan </div></BLOCKQUOTE>