ILW.COM,
American
Immigration LLC.

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: family based immigration for unmarried son

I am a LPR and my 30 year old unmarried son
    is here on B2 visa and his I 94 is valid for two more months :

My questions are
    1) can i sponsor him for a GC since i am a permanant resident myself ?
    2) can he obtain an EAD on that basis ?
    3) How much tax should one have filed to be able to sponsor someone for I 130 ?
    4) My son wants to adjust his status here and he can take admission into a masters program should he change his status to student and then i should file for hiS i 130 ?

please help

I am a LPR and my 30 year old unmarried son
    is here on B2 visa and his I 94 is valid for two more months :

My questions are
    1) can i sponsor him for a GC since i am a permanant resident myself ?
    2) can he obtain an EAD on that basis ?
    3) How much tax should one have filed to be able to sponsor someone for I 130 ?
    4) My son wants to adjust his status here and he can take admission into a masters program should he change his status to student and then i should file for hiS i 130 ?

please help

As long as he is unmarried, I think you can still sponsor him. Good luck!

can he adjust his status here if i file his i 130 ?

<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-title">quote:</div><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-content">Originally posted by niv:
    can he adjust his status here if i file his i 130 ? </div></BLOCKQUOTE>

No he can not adjust his status. He has to wait till his visa number is available. The waiting time starts when the I-130 is approved.

How long? depends on his country of origin.

<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-title">quote:</div><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-content">I am a LPR and my 30 year old unmarried son
    is here on B2 visa and his I 94 is valid for two more months : </div></BLOCKQUOTE>