50000 pages of
free information!
Copyright
1995-2014
ILW.COM,
American
Immigration LLC.

Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: How long to get Green Card After Interview?

Hello,

My current status is C9 or C09, I've been working for a few years with an EAD, now the time has come for the green card interview.

I was wondering how long it will take them to mail the green card after the interview? A few weeks?

The reason I'm asking is because my EAD will expire soon, and if the green card will come before EAD I will save about two hundred dollars, which I need because this resident process made me almost broke.

Thanks.

If your application is given final approval at the interview (assuming that your interview is successful and the background checks, etc., have been satisfactorily completed), you will be admitted/approved as a Permanent Resident at that time. Your Permanent Resident Card will be mailed to you, and this may take several weeks or several months.

However, once you have been admitted/approved for Permanent Residency, you will not need an EAD, regardless of whether you have received the actual Permanent Resident Card.

Will they make it clear at the interview that I have been approved or denied as a Permanent Resident, or do they say wait for a letter in the mail?

Also if I get approved do they give you some some of paper you can use to go to the Social Security office to get a new SSN card without that "INS permission required to work" notice?

My EAD expires in February, my interview is in early November. I would love to avoid paying for the EAD renewal. I wonder if they give a refund for a EAD renewal application.

Assuming that your security check has been completed, you will most likely be advised at the interview as to whether you have been approved or denied. Sometimes, they will not make a decision immediately, and you will be advised later by mail...but, I believe that this is relatively rare.