Copyright
1995-
ILW.COM,
American
Immigration LLC.

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Confused about traveling with permanent resident status

Hello,

When I was very young I came to the US, and many, many (many...) years later I became a US permanent resident. I wish to visit my homeland now, but I am confused about the process.

1. Do I need a passport from the country where I was born? I do not have one.

2. Do I need a travel document / "white passport" from the US? I don't understand what this document is for.

Also, a major concern I have is about "applying for reentry" with immigration officials when attempting to reenter the US. I am reading all over that you need to "apply to reenter," can they really deny you entry even though your home is in the US? Isn't showing them the green card enough? What else do you need to prove to "apply" that you are a permanent resident?

If someone could please explain to me the process of traveling as a permanent resident, I would greatly appreciate it.

Thanks,
    Jack

Hello,

When I was very young I came to the US, and many, many (many...) years later I became a US permanent resident. I wish to visit my homeland now, but I am confused about the process.

1. Do I need a passport from the country where I was born? I do not have one.

2. Do I need a travel document / "white passport" from the US? I don't understand what this document is for.

Also, a major concern I have is about "applying for reentry" with immigration officials when attempting to reenter the US. I am reading all over that you need to "apply to reenter," can they really deny you entry even though your home is in the US? Isn't showing them the green card enough? What else do you need to prove to "apply" that you are a permanent resident?

If someone could please explain to me the process of traveling as a permanent resident, I would greatly appreciate it.

Thanks,
    Jack

jack,