50000 pages of
free information!
Copyright
© 1995-
ILW.COM,
American
Immigration LLC.

Page 1 of 5 123 ... LastLast

Thread: Re:CSS/LULAC - When An Immigration Officer Makes A Wrongful Determination

What recourse does anyone have when an immigration officer is a fault-finder rather than be an adjudicator of a case. I first came to this country in 1977 as an F-1 student. After about 3 years of studies, I graduated in 1979 and left the U.S. Then I came back with a student visa again to start graduate studies in 1981 and had enough money for my studies. Then sometime in mid-1981, I had to leave for about 3 weeks to my home country due to a death of a close relative in the family. I did not get any re-entry paper before I left because I thought my current student visa was good enough for my re-entry. When I came back, an immigration officer questioned me about not having a re-entry document. But after a brief discussion and showing documents (such as transcript, old visa, flight tickets, balance of money in my account), the officer allowed me to re-enter on my good old visa. But due to illnesses that started after I came back, I did not return back to school, and I was not working due to my illnesses. Not going to school was a violation of my student visa status and this is what qualified me for the amnesty program. Then I had to travel out sometime in mid-1983 for only 17 days to my home country and returned with a new student visa. When I went for my LULAC interview recently, I had very authentic documents (college transcripts, mails, bills, statements, etc.) dating back to 1981 to show the officer that I was here before January 1, 1982 and was out of status. The only reason I was turned away in 1987 was because of this 1983 student visa which has now been waived in the CSS/LULAC settlement. The interview was going great and I was feeling very happy, even though I was nervous. I went to this interview with one of the best, if not the best, immigration attorneys in th