50000 pages of
free information!
Copyright
1995-
ILW.COM,
American
Immigration LLC.

Thread: Green card lottery vs. Adjustment of Status

I think I screwed my green card application.

On early April 2002, I received a notification that I got selected for further consideration in DV-2003 lottery program. I was an F-1 student at that time. I read the instruction and found that I might be eligible to apply for status adjustment. But I wasn't sure about it. So I called the INS center to verify. The guy on the INS center said I was eligible and he told me I could go to my local INS (in Bloomington, MN, near Mall of America) to process the adjustment. Then I went to my local INS and they gave me I-485 and other forms.

So, I filled them out, took medical exams, and returned to my local INS on October 2002. But they told me that it wasn't the time for me to file the application. They had a schedule for DV lottery winners when to file their case. They told me to go check the visa bulletin. I did and found my case number went to June 2003 group.

On June 2003 I went back to the INS an filed my application. And they gave me an instruction to get my finger prints, which I did the following week. Then i got a letter from my local INS saying that my application would be process on February 2004 due to some changes.

I finished my study on Summer 2003.

--Note (underline this): All the time I was under impression that if I applied for adjustment of status, I would automatically obtained my visa.--

Back on the track. Just yesterday I got a letter from my local INS saying that my application was DENIED (that's how they wrote it, with all-caps, it almost gave me a heart attack). I read the enclosure and came to the last part: