50000 pages of
free information!
Copyright
1995-
ILW.COM,
American
Immigration LLC.

Thread: permanent resident living outside the US

I'm a permanent resident living outside of the US for almost 10 month. During this period of time I was returning 3 times to the US for a few days. However, I did not apply for a reentry permit before leaving 10 months ago. What are my options right now to return to the US without jeopardizing my green card? What happens if I stay longer than 1 year outside the US?

I'm a permanent resident living outside of the US for almost 10 month. During this period of time I was returning 3 times to the US for a few days. However, I did not apply for a reentry permit before leaving 10 months ago. What are my options right now to return to the US without jeopardizing my green card? What happens if I stay longer than 1 year outside the US?

As long as you returned to US within six months you are fine.
    Reentry permit will allow you to stay two years out of US, from the date of issuance, you must returned to US before it expires.
    How did you received your permanent resident status?
    Why you had to live abroad?
    If you over stay outside the US you will jeopardizing your I-551(Green Card).

So where are you living while outside of the US? It makes a difference.

I'm still living outside (Germany) the US but have returned 3 times for short periods of time. The time spam between between my initial departure from the US and the three visits was less than 6 months. I got my green card because I was approved of being a valuable scientist to the US.

Even applying ahead of time for re-entry permit doesn't guarantee that the Immigration officer interviewing you for re-entry will honor it if he/she believes that you have abandoned your residency. It's your responsibility to prove your intent to live here permanently. Many short trips here probably won't do it.

SOURCE:
    http://www.usvisainfo.com/object/pdf...uties_LPR.pdf#