free information!
Copyright
1995-
ILW.COM,
American
Immigration LLC.

Thread: juvenile case!

Need some advise on a juvenile case!

Im a paralegal for an immigration law firm in Texas. I have never worked on juvenile cases before. We were appointed the other day by the immigration judge to represent a juvenile. He advised us to make sure that respondent would be released to his family member. I have consulted with respondent in several occasions, and have communicated with the officer who does the recommendations for the approval of the release. Officer told me that he would do everything in his power to not get this boy released. He does have a father who is in the U.S with L.P.R. status. Child lived with his mother who does have illegal status in U.S. Reasons for officer not wanting to realease juvenile is because this client has a pretty good criminal record, including being a member of a gang. Respondent has been in U.S. for more than 10 years, which would make him eligable for cancellation of removal for non-perm. residents, but he then becomes ineligeble because he cannot prove 10 years of good moral character. He will be having a child from his 15 year girlfriend. I still dont think that will help. I dont know what other basis will help this kid out. I dont know if this officer is doing the right thing, but I would like some advise! what should we do for this kid. Should we not waist time in fighting the deportation defense, and request his remoal, or would there be something to help him out. Is there anything I can do that can get him released to his father. What shall I do???/ Please Help!!!

Need some advise on a juvenile case!