50000 pages of
free information!
Copyright
1995-
ILW.COM,
American
Immigration LLC.

Thread: Extension of F-1 Question

I am currently on a F-1 with it expiring in May. I am currently a law school student and will be sitting for the bar exam in July. When I applied for my F-1, I forgot to take into consideration the fact that I would have to physically be in the United States to sit for the bar exam and that I would be taking Barbri classes upon graduation. My int'l student advisor has not been reachable. How do I extend my F-1 and can I do so under these circumstances.

I, however, married my boyfriend of 3 years last week--who happens to be a U.S. Citizen and is filing a I-130 petition for me. Do I need to file for the F-1 extension anyway while my adjustment of status application is pending? I realize that I will not receive an approval for the adjustment of status until AFTER my F-1 expires so I thought it'd be best if I maintain status by filing for an extension. What are your thoughts?

If my adjustment of status is filed and received by the USCIS by the end of this month. My visa expires at the end of May. Will I be "out of status" while my adjustment of status application is pending or am I ok from the time it is filed with USCIS?

I am currently on a F-1 with it expiring in May. I am currently a law school student and will be sitting for the bar exam in July. When I applied for my F-1, I forgot to take into consideration the fact that I would have to physically be in the United States to sit for the bar exam and that I would be taking Barbri classes upon graduation. My int'l student advisor has not been reachable. How do I extend my F-1 and can I do so under these circumstances.