free information!
Copyright
1995-
ILW.COM,
American
Immigration LLC.

Thread: I-751 Question

Hello Everybody,

I am in a difficult situation and I wanted to share it with you and see if anybody else had to deal with the same issue.
    I am a conditional permanent resident, through marriage, for about 3 years. We have been married for 4 years and dating 7. Beginning of 2004 I applied to lift conditions (joint application through TSC) and even though I included everything you can possibly think of (house, insurance, loans, accounts, trips overseas, vacations etc.) my file was sent to the local office for interview. My local office is Memphis. When I asked them about the status they said it will take several more months for an interview to be scheduled and also that I was one of the "unlucky" ones they chose radomly for an interview.
    The problem is that our marriage is falling apart, mainly over arguments about issues I consider trivial. We went to counseling but it did not help and the situation is getting worse. I am not sure what the future holds but I believe that we will be divorced soon. From whatever I have read about pending I-751s on this board, especially one that for sure is going to interview, and divorce fall into a gray area. I don't want to initiate divorce. I love my wife and I hope we can stay together. I really hate it that this is something that I have to even think about in the middle of what is happening in our relationship. I hate the idea of including this too in our problems as it will be viewed as another point of friction.
    My questions are about what I should do to not have this as a factor in this critical situation. What happens if an interview letter comes, and my wife is not willing to come to the interview just the day before or just doesn't show up? I wouldn't want her to come without her will anyway. What happens if she files for divorce in the next 2 months and the interview is in 3 months or if she moves out?