50000 pages of
free information!
Copyright
© 1995-
ILW.COM,
American
Immigration LLC.

Thread: ILLEGAL TO LEGAL??

Does anyone know if someone entered the US illegally if they marry a citizen how can I make that person legal? THANKS!

Does anyone know if someone entered the US illegally if they marry a citizen how can I make that person legal? THANKS!

At this time there is no possibility to make this person legal. When 245(i) is reinstated you will be able to do so by paying a fine.

This won't happen in the near future though.

http://www.immigrate2us.net
    I am not a lawyer nor do I claim to be one so please double-check any information given by me, or anyone else for that matter, with a certified (immigration)lawyer before you take any further steps.

osrgr8t, are you saying the person entered without inspection? If that is the case then the person would have to leave the country for at least a part of the time during adjustment of status. There are several people on the board that are dealing with this so hopefully one of them will respond with more details.