1995-
ILW.COM,
American
Immigration LLC.

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: F1 to labor certificate

hi,,
    i am really confused about a lot of things,
    i am an accountant came to US with Visitor visa and changed it F1 student status,,,

i am willing that after sometime i will get the H1-B visa but i heard that there is a good option for me is to get the labor certificate instead of the H1 and it`s permanent and can get it any time but it`s little bit complex and need a good attorney ...

is this true or not? and if it`s a good chance for me , can i change the F1 to Labor certificate ?

It's a bit hard from where or how to start to help you understand the whole thing, Kid (no offense meant please). I mean you're like a kid who listens to other sweet, innocent kids.

You don't "change" your F1 status to Alien Employment Certification (Labor Certification or PERM as it's called nowadays).

You said you came in with a B1/B2 visa then changed it to F1. You may eventually "change" it to H1B. Ok, indeed, that's called a "change" of status from one nonimmigrant visa class to another.

But PERM is not an "event" like changing of status discussed above, but rather it's a "process." And yes, you're right, it's a little bit complex process. But, very important, it doesn't give a nonimmigrant alien like you any immigration status by itself. Instead, the nonimmigrant status that you hold now (F1) should "remain valid" in the whole duration of the PERM process and beyond.

Basically, in PERM, a US employer initiates this process with the Department of Labor documenting the fact that he/she has a vacancy but no willing, able, qualified or available US worker could be found, after conducting various recruitment methods, to fill up the job. But one alien worker (it's you) possesses the qualification to meet the job requirements and who is willing to accept the job offer. If everything is satisfied, then the DOL issues the certification.