free information!
Copyright
1995-
ILW.COM,
American
Immigration LLC.

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Taxes and sponsorship

My husband wants to sponsor me for green card. He is US Citizen, self-employed and has no tax returns. What can we do?
    Someone out there please give us a hint. Thanks!

If your husband has been working but not filing taxes, he's got big troubles with the IRS. His (and your) best bet is to find a good tax attorney before you even try to deal with immigration. [My opinion only--I'm not a lawyer.]

he needs to start filing all his taxes including back taxes IMMEDIATELY. Later, he can sponsor you.

You need to know that you cannot get any benefit from the govt if u dont file taxes, esp if you have been receiving any form of income.

Thanks Aliba & John Doe!
    Does my husband have to pay a penalty for not filing taxes. He has his business for 5 years and did not file at all.
    Is there any other route we can go? My parents are also here and they have a greencard. Can they sponsor me too?
    Can I still file a marriage based adjustment of status? I am here 18 years on a visa overstay and got a DUI in Oct. 2004. I lost my driver license and can not get a temporary because I have no SS#. Any suggestions on that? Please help, Iam in a big mess. Thanks!

you will have a lot ahead of you to get everything sorted out.
    consult an experienced tax-laywer like AliBA suggested. get the tax issue sorted out and then file for marriage based AOS. having your parents sponsor you doesn't make sense. with them only having a green card and you (at least I assume you are) being aged out (over age) it would take forever for you to get a green card and you might even have to leave the country which in turn would trigger the 10-year bar due to overstay.
    As to the consequences of your DUI I would suggest you consult an experienced immigration attorney.

Thanks Silviamka,