Copyright
1995-
ILW.COM,
American
Immigration LLC.

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: How to get back to the USA, loads of questions

This is my current situation

I visited the USA on a J-1 visa from January 15th to July 3rd 2007. It was my first time to the USA. I hold an Irish and South African passport. I was born in South Africa to Irish parents.

My J-1 visa has a two year home residency requirement on it, to reside in the UK as this is where I was awarded my scholarship to go to the United States (I assume I have to reside in the UK).

My J-1 visa was sponsored by the UK government, however I entered the USA on my South Africa passport having flown out of South Africa and I returned to South Africa. I studied and resided in the UK for three years at university and was awarded this scholarship after I graduated last year, June 06. I was residing in the UK when I was awarded the scholarship, however I did the interview and my visa was processed in South Africa, at the American consulate in Durban.

I have a number of questions.

I'm determined to get back to the USA ASAP either by studying, working or moving to the USA. I loved the place firstly and also I now have an American girlfriend. I have done a lot of research into my situation and would like to clarify what my options are.

In my mind my process is two fold I firstly need to get around the two year residency requirement. I could then enter the USA by

- Getting a Job (difficult, I only hold an undergraduate degree)
    - A study visa
    - Marriage
    - Green card lottery
    - Green Card sponsorship - family member (my Grandmother was born in Boston)

Questions

How to get a letter of no objection

1) From my research the only way to get around the two year residency requirement is to obtain a letter from the relevant embassy and get a letter of "no objection", is this correct?