publisher - over
50000 pages of
free information!
Copyright
© 1995-2014
ILW.COM,
American
Immigration LLC.

Thread: Can (should?) a Permanent Resident marry a F1 abroad?

I'm writing to seek some advise/direction regarding I and my fiancee's visa
    situation. I hope someone can help.

I have been a Permanent Resident of the U.S. for more than 5 years. My fiancee is on a F1 student visa and we wish to be married in our country of birth.

What would be the right/best way to proceed? We think that it might be best to return to the U.S. with her still on her F1 visa, and then
    proceed to apply for a Green Card for her as we settle down here. However, I see from other discussions on this forum that this may be viewed unfavorably by the immigration service. What should we expect if we plan to submit a visa change request at the embassy in our home country?

We are also wondering how long it usually takes for the change in status to be completed, and what her status will be in the intervening period. Will she be able to work soon, if she wishes, or will that have to wait? I
    understand that there's a backlog of several years for visas.

How long does it take to change from LPR to USC, if it comes to that?

Would it be prudent to engage a lawyer or is all this a trivial process, and how much might it cost?

I'm writing to seek some advise/direction regarding I and my fiancee's visa
    situation. I hope someone can help.

I have been a Permanent Resident of the U.S. for more than 5 years. My fiancee is on a F1 student visa and we wish to be married in our country of birth.

What would be the right/best way to proceed? We think that it might be best to return to the U.S. with her still on her F1 visa, and then