free information!
Copyright
1995-
ILW.COM,
American
Immigration LLC.

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: arrested and charges dismissed by Grand Jury

Im a permanent resident since1996.in 1999 I was arrested and charged with a first degree felony.
    in2000 the Grand Jury dismissed the charges.
    can I apply for citizenship and can I travel outside the USA without having problems when reentering the USA?

Im a permanent resident since1996.in 1999 I was arrested and charged with a first degree felony.
    in2000 the Grand Jury dismissed the charges.
    can I apply for citizenship and can I travel outside the USA without having problems when reentering the USA?

I dont see why you wouldn't be able to travel outside the US. You're a permanent resident. As long as your green card is still valid you shouldn't have any problems.

For your citizenship, that will probably depend on the INS officer.
    These pages may help you:

http://www.ins.usdoj.gov/graphics/se...atz/faq.htm#q7

http://www.ins.usdoj.gov/graphics/se...tz/general.htm

Hope that helps

Before leaving the country, I would try to obtain citizenship. Even if you're not "removable" at this stage, you could be "inadmissable". It depends on the charges and the circumstances of the dismissal...

Since your charges were dismissed though, you don't stand of having a "conviction", and should be able to establish "good moral character".

But you still may have a "moral turpitude issue" especially if during the time of the commission of the crime - 1999 - you were not legally 5 yrs. in the States (a conviction is not needed for this criteria).

If you've got the time, you may want to wait untill 2004 (5 yrs. post the arrest) and then apply for citizenshhip with the help of a good immigration attorney.

Good luck!

You suggested him wait until 2004 (5 yrs. post the arrest). What does the period of 5 years mean?

Moral turpitdue even catches arrest w/o convition? Really?