free information!
Copyright
© 1995-
ILW.COM,
American
Immigration LLC.

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Self Petition or lose my mind with insecure Controlling Hubby

I am a conditional resident, temporarily separated from my insecure and controlling husband. LOVE him to death, but his controlling issues are driving me away from him. I am told that I can self petition, but i am scared that I will be denied, but i don't want this to be the reason primary reason why I return, because his behavior is taking a toll on me: no friends, no work, etc. ADVICE, anyone? Thanks!!!

I am a conditional resident, temporarily separated from my insecure and controlling husband. LOVE him to death, but his controlling issues are driving me away from him. I am told that I can self petition, but i am scared that I will be denied, but i don't want this to be the reason primary reason why I return, because his behavior is taking a toll on me: no friends, no work, etc. ADVICE, anyone? Thanks!!!

If you want to self petition, you will need to have documentation of the abuse. If he is simply jealous and insecure, it probably won't be enough. He has to be literally abusing you. Emotional abuse is real, but it's a lot harder to prove since you don't have bruses. If you sincerely believe that his jealousness is to a point where it is abuse, then at least see a counselor or therapist who could testify to the fact that you are a victim of abuse.
    Have a nice day

That's not correct. Vivia has a conditional green card. An alien that divorced can self-petition to remove conditions on the basis of a bona fide marriage that terminated. She doesn't have to prove abuse at all! But she must have enough evidence of the bona fide nature of the marriage.
    The above is simply an opinion. Your mileage may vary. For immigration issues, please consult an immigration attorney.

Vivia,