50000 pages of
free information!
Copyright
1995-
ILW.COM,
American
Immigration LLC.

Thread: IRS QUESTION>>>

I am sorry but this is an IRS question..i am a resident alien just got married but my husband is still living abroad.. How should i file taxes to IRS? should i file as married filing separetaly? (but he doesn't have social security number) or would i still be filing single...i'm confused.

I am sorry but this is an IRS question..i am a resident alien just got married but my husband is still living abroad.. How should i file taxes to IRS? should i file as married filing separetaly? (but he doesn't have social security number) or would i still be filing single...i'm confused.

<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-title">quote:</div><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-content">Originally posted by star15:
    I am sorry but this is an IRS question..i am a resident alien just got married but my husband is still living abroad.. How should i file taxes to IRS? should i file as married filing separetaly? (but he doesn't have social security number) or would i still be filing single...i'm confused. </div></BLOCKQUOTE>
    Star,
    You have 3 questions:
    1. How should I file?
    2. How should my husband obtain a Tax identification number?
    3. And what are the tax implications?

I will answer each one.

If your marital status was married by 12/31/2006, you can either file married filing separately or married filing jointly. It is a choice. If you choose to file jointly, your husband will be treated as a resident alien for tax purposes.

Since your husband is not eligible for a Social Security Number, your husband will be eligible for the individual tax identification number, or ITIN by filing form W-7 with the tax return. This needs to be done whether you file married filing separately or jointly.