Copyright
1995-
ILW.COM,
American
Immigration LLC.

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: N-400 Good morale character

Hello dear members,

I am a 26 year Italian citizen, U.S. resident since June 2005. I would like to apply for naturalization but first I would like to consult experienced people whether my application will be accepted or denied due to lack of good morale character.

I am PhD student in the Aerospace Department at the University of Washington. I was given several scholarships and fellowship for my academic record and my research findings. I have been doing cut-edge research since 2006. I have gathered letters of recommendation for my naturalization interview from professors, the chair of the department and a person from volunteering activity I have done in a local elementary school.

Unfortunately I have also make two mistakes in the past. On November 2004 I was arrested for DUI. All charges where dismissed because I was found innocent: I was not the person driving the car. On February 2008 I was arrested for DUI again and put on unsupervised probation until March 2011. I successfully completed the alcohol abuse class and paid all fines. If I do not break the law again, the charges will be lowered to negligence driving.

Given the pros and cons about my situation, should I apply for naturalization now, wait for the probation time to be over, or hire an immigration lawyer to help with my case?

Any suggestion and comment is very appreciated.

Thank you in advance

-Francesco

Hello dear members,

I am a 26 year Italian citizen, U.S. resident since June 2005. I would like to apply for naturalization but first I would like to consult experienced people whether my application will be accepted or denied due to lack of good morale character.