50000 pages of
free information!
Copyright
1995-2014
ILW.COM,
American
Immigration LLC.

Thread: Marrying an International Student

I am a permanent resident and want to get married to an F1 student. I will be eligible for the citizenship in about 3-1/2 years. What is the impact of me marrying her on 1) her F1 status, 2) her travel in/out of the country, and 3) timeline by which she could get her green card.

I read a lot about the nonimmigrant intent, but I am not clear on the entire situation. What would happen if we did get married, she did not disclose it on POE and then we file the papers for her AOS when I become citizen? During this time, she does plan to finish her studies.

Thank you for your help.

I am a permanent resident and want to get married to an F1 student. I will be eligible for the citizenship in about 3-1/2 years. What is the impact of me marrying her on 1) her F1 status, 2) her travel in/out of the country, and 3) timeline by which she could get her green card.

I read a lot about the nonimmigrant intent, but I am not clear on the entire situation. What would happen if we did get married, she did not disclose it on POE and then we file the papers for her AOS when I become citizen? During this time, she does plan to finish her studies.

Thank you for your help.

Hi! This is one of the agents with the USCIS. We monitor this website all throughout the day and just found your post. Thanks for informing us about your "immigrant intent" girlfriend.

You have to show and have financial responsibilty...you have to make a certain amount a year....then you can go from there.

Its not easy as you may think....you have to ahev money,enough money.Because she won;t be able to get work permit for a while...and all the applications will cost $ $ $.... be prepared for that!

<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-title">quote:</div><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-content">Originally posted by Mann: